SWORD Technical Advisory Panel

By | January 20, 2011

As part of the development of SWORD v2 a Technical Advisory Panel has been formed.  This panel consists of experts from across the SWORD and general Digital Repository domains, along with experts in related fields. The purpose of the panel is to ensure that the standard develops in a way that meets the needs of its user community, that it exhibits best-practice in the area of Internet standards, that developers are able to work with it, and that it tries to be generic enough to allow interoperability with other types of systems whilst maintaining its focus on repository resource deposit.  The panel consists of people from universities, national libraries, research funders, commercial companies, developers, repository domain experts, and repository managers.

The following people have generously donated their time and expertise to be on this panel:

  • Julie Allinson (The University of York)
  • Tim Brody (University of Southampton)
  • Pablo de Castro (SONEX / Universidad Carlos III de Madrid)
  • Charles Duncan (Intrallect)
  • Reinhard Engels (Harvard University Library)
  • David Flanders (JISC)
  • John Fearns (Symplectic)
  • Kathi Fletcher (Shuttleworth Foundation Fellow)
  • Steve Hitchcock (University of Southampton)
  • Jason Hoyt (Mendeley)
  • Bill Ingram (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
  • Richard Jones (SWORD Technical Lead)
  • Graham Klyne (University of Oxford)
  • Stuart Lewis (SWORD Community Manager / The University of Auckland Library)
  • Mark MacGillivray (Developer)
  • Andrea Marchitelli (CILEA)
  • Alistair Miles (The Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics)
  • Ben O’Steen (Developer)
  • Glen Robson (National Library of Wales)
  • Richard Rodgers (MIT)
  • Robert Sanderson (LANL)
  • Peter Sefton (Australian Digital Futures Institute, University of Southern Queensland)
  • Nick Sheppard (UKCoRR / Leeds Metropolitan)
  • Eddie Shin (MediaShelf)
  • Alec Smecher (Public Knowledge Project)
  • Adrian Stevenson (UKOLN)
  • Ian Stuart (Repository Junction / EDINA)
  • Ed Summers (Library of Congress)
  • David Tarrant (University of Southampton)
  • Robin Taylor (The University of Edinburgh)
  • Graham Triggs (BioMed Central)
  • Alex Wade (Microsoft External Research)
  • Paul Walk (UKOLN)
  • Simeon Warner (arXiv)
  • Scott Wilson (CETIS)
  • Nathan Yergler (Creative Commons)

In the interests of openness, the group discussions are being archived in an open mail archive: http://www.mail-archive.com/sword-app-techadvisorypanel@lists.sourceforge.net/

Category: SWORD v2 Tags: , ,

About Stuart Lewis

Stuart Lewis works for The University of Auckland Library as their Digital Development Manager. He has played a part of all the past SWORD projects, initially by being the joint creator of the DSpace and Fedora implementations, but also by writing clients such as the Java web client, the PHP API, and the Facebook client. More recently he has contributed by creating the EasyDeposit SWORD client creation tookit, and for writing ‘The SWORD Course’ (http://www.slideshare.net/swordapp/tag/theswordcourse / http://vimeo.com/channels/swordapp) that was first delivered at the Open Repositories 2010 conference.

Stuart blogs regularly about SWORD developments (http://blog.stuartlewis.com/tag/sword/) and has co-authored two papers concerning SWORD:

One thought on “SWORD Technical Advisory Panel

  1. Pingback: Launch of SWORD v2 » SWORD

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *